The Monroe County Sports Hall of Fame was established on May 11, 2009, with the purpose to honor outstanding persons, living or deceased, who have gained prominence and have made substantial contributions on behalf of themselves and Monroe County in the fields of amateur and professional sports. It is a 501(c)3 non-profit, organization.

To be considered for election into the Monroe County Sports Hall of Fame, a prospective candidate must meet the following minimum criteria:

  1. Have gained prominence in either amateur or professional sports as an athlete, coach, contributor, or any special category.
  2. Be a person who, as a full-time resident of Monroe County, had an outstanding achievement or made a noteworthy contribution in sports in Monroe County, or a person who was born or grew up in Monroe County and later gained state or national prominence outside the county in amateur or professional sports.
  3. To be nominated, one must have met his or her 30th birthday, or been out of their particular sport as an athlete, coach and contributor for a period of 10 years, whichever comes first. Posthumous nominations will be considered immediately on an individual basis.

Our Board of Directors

  • John Baker
  • Mark Deal
  • Marcus Debro
  • Royce Deckard
  • Andrew Graham
  • David Hays, President
  • Lynn R. Houser
  • Patricia Houser
  • Nick Jenkinson, Secretary
  • Kit Klingelhoffer
  • Rita Klingelhoffer, Treasurer
  • Lance Ringler
  • Sandy Searcy
  • Ralph Sieboldt
  • Grier Werner, Vice President
  • Nancy Werner